top of page

congratulations to our 2022 winners!

On Wednesday, 9 November, over 180 people gathered from across Hawke’s Bay to attend the inaugural 2022 Hawke’s Bay Heritage Awards.


The recently refurbished Municipal Chambers complex at Toitoi Hawke’s Bay Arts & Events Centre provided the venue for this very special occasion, where awards were given in eight categories, and a Supreme Winner. 


Hawke’s Bay Heritage Awards 2022 Supreme Winner: 

Ngā Ara Tipuna, Waipukurau-Takapau


Ngā Ara Tipuna is a Pā site interpretation project showcases the network of seven historic Pā sites located In the Waipukurau-Takapau area of Tamatea/Central Hawkes Bay. A cultural and educational story telling tour has now been created, marrying the historic Pā sites with technology, to share a history and the stories of the people that is unique to Tamatea/Central Hawkes Bay. A self-guided driving tour, studded with storyboards, incredible views and on-site access to digital storytelling, has brought seven historic pā sites to life.

Public Good-0-2344-0-1652.jpg

This significant cultural heritage project includes the creation of carvings, digital storytelling and displays to engage visitors and locals through sharing stories of the hapu of Ngai Tahu ki Takapau, Ngāi Toroiwaho, Ngaī Te Rangitotohu, Ngāti Marau, Ngāi Te Kikiri-o-te-rangi and Ngāti Parakiore and their relationship with the land.

Hawke’s Bay Heritage Awards 2022 Winners:

Historic Places Hawkes’s Bay

Domestic Building Saved and Restored Award Winner:

Whare Ra, Havelock North

HIGHLY COMMENDED Paradise Cottage, Paradise Road, Napier


Hastings District Council

Public Realm Saved and Restored Award Winner:

The Municipal Buildings at Toitoi

Hawke’s Bay Arts & Events Centre, Hastings

HIGHLY COMMENDED Coles Joinery Factory, Ongaonga

HIGHLY COMMENDED Remembrance Army, Hawke’s Bay Branch

HIGHLY COMMENDED The County Hotel, Napier


Art Deco Trust

Art Deco Era Building Saved and Restored Award Winner:

Daily Telegraph Building, Tennyson Street, Napier


Ngāti Kahungunu Iwi Incorporated

Māori Realm Award Winner:

Ngā Ara Tipuna, Waipukurau-Takapau


Hawke’s Bay Tourism

Heritage Tourism Award Winner: 

Coles Joinery Factory, Ongaonga

Heritage New Zealand Pouhere Taonga

Seismic Strengthening Award Winner:

The Opera House at Toitoi

Hawke’s Bay Arts & Events Centre, Hastings

HIGHLY COMMENDED Tribune Precinct, Hastings


Central Hawke’s Bay District Council

Future Heritage Award Winner:

Tribune Precinct, Queens Street East, Hastings


Napier City Council

Hawke’s Bay Heritage Hero Award Winner:

Denise Gore




Wairoa District Council

Hawke’s Bay Heritage Heroes Award Winner:

Central Hawke's Bay Museum

HIGHLY COMMENDED Hawke’s Bay Vintage Car Club

HIGHLY COMMENDED The volunteers at Hawke’s Bay Knowledge Bank



The Hawke’s Bay Heritage Awards have been established by the region’s four Councils – Central Hawke’s Bay District Council, Hastings District Council, Napier City Council, and Wairoa District Council with additional support from Art Deco Trust, Heritage New Zealand Pouhere Taonga, Historic Places Aotearoa, Historic Places Hawke’s Bay, New Zealand Media and Entertainment, and Ngāti Kahungunu Iwi Incorporated.


The Hawke’s Bay Heritage Awards is an exciting opportunity to celebrate and nurture the preservation of Hawke’s Bay’s cultural heritage. To be held every two years, with the next awards in 2024, these Awards recognise excellence in heritage and history conservation, heritage tourism and heritage storytelling, and will promote the values of world-class heritage retention and conservation to the wider community and provide much-deserved recognition for those who inspire us to connect with our past.

bottom of page